This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

RFU Discipline

Photo: Getty Images

Discipline is one of the core values of rugby. The RFU Discipline team strives to ensure that rugby is a game of controlled physical endeavour and that it is honest and fair.

The RFU’s disciplinary regime reflects IRB Regulation 17. It exists to penalise players whose foul play or misconduct is other than purely accidental, and one of its most important principles is to prevent the risk of injury to other players in a dynamic and physical sport. Players have an obligation to ensure that they do not cause injury to opponents, so there is a presumption that any conduct which is proscribed by IRB Law 10 (foul play) merits a sanction.

The RFU Discipline Department deals with foul play and misconduct cases in levels 1-4 of the Game. It also deals with appeals from Constituent Body Disciplinary Panels and other specific cases that the Constituent Body Disciplinary Panels do not have the power to deal with, for example, breaches of IRB 10 and 21 (medical and anti-doping).

There are 35 Constituent Bodies to which the RFU delegates disciplinary powers. These bodies will normally deal with misconduct and foul play cases at level 5 and below. Members of RFU Disciplinary Committees and Constituent Body Disciplinary Panels are trained and accredited to sit on such cases by the RFU.

The Discipline Department is also responsible for the appointment of Citing Officers to matches when required. For further information contact

Disciplinary Personnel

RFU Discipline

Head of Discipline

Gerard McEvilly, Barrister

National Youth Discipline Secretary (NYDS)

Nigel Orton JP

Discipline Case Officer

Charlotte Mitchell-Dunn

Department Administrator

Danny Rumble

RFU Judiciary

Head of Independent Rugby Judiciary

Sir James Dingemans

Judicial Secretary

Rebecca Morgan


Find your local Rugby club

See also

    IBM TryTracker